Star Wars Party

Greetings. Another year has come and gone in my life and I am older now. People kept asking me whether or not I felt different now. I have never felt like getting older has actually done anything to change me at all. Change tends to be a gradual thing, and a birthday as more of a marker than an actual moment of change. The closest thing that I had to a crisis about getting old was about six or so months after my sixteenth birthday when I discovered that my hairline was indeed receding. Since then I have had no real problems with getting older.

However, the actual point of this blog was to talk about a party, and not to randomly muse about subjects which no one would voluntarily read about. To celebrate my aforementioned birthday, my wife and I planned a Star Wars party. The inspiration for this came from the old theme parties that were thrown by friends of mine (The basic idea is to pick a theme then make foods and wear clothes in accordance to it). At one of these theme parties, My Good Friend With The Mustache (before he had the mustache oddly enough) mentioned how cool it would be to have a party like that only based on Star Wars. We fell to discussing what kinds of food could be made and eaten, but by the end of the party did not really think more about it. Years later My wife and I decided to pick out foods and make the party work.

-Episode I: “Don’t do that again.” A plate full of small fruits (plums would have been best, but my birthday is in the middle of winter).

Episode II: “If Master Obi-wan saw me doing this he’d be very grumpy.” Pears sliced into large circular pieces.

Episode IV: “What if this Obi-wan comes looking for them?” Blue milk (my wife watched the scene again to make sure we got the right shade of blue).

Episode V: “How you get so big eating food of this kind?” We wanted to get Power Bars, but they are expensive and taste really nasty, so we just got some granola bars instead.

“Good food, hmmm. Good?” A pot of stew. This one almost did not make it onto the menu, but I spoke to my Friend With The Mustache on the phone and he inspired me to get it. Both my wife and I are glad we did, it was a big hit.

“We would be honored if you would join us.” Brownies and chocolates. I have a still photo of the scene where Vader blocks Han’s shots, and the table is full of brownies and things like that. I guess Vader has a sweet tooth.

Episode VI: “Aieeeeee….” A vase full of gummy frogs. We actually ended up using octopuses because we could not find any frogs. But they are close, right? We wanted to fill the vase with water too, but figured that on one would want to eat the candy if we did that.

“Goon-dah.” Saltine crackers.

“I don’t know. Yeah Chewie, it’s just some kind of dead animal.” For those of you that know me from my youth, you may remember the stuffed-up “dead” cat that my aunt got for me. For those that do not, then I guess the joke simply is not funny and you just will have to accept that fact. Sorry

janparty08.jpg

Here is the latest of my Jediness.

janpartyii08.jpg

My Wife in her Padme Costume.

pict0104.jpg

Close-up on the hair.

pict0107.jpg

And my Friend With The Mustache came as a rebel trooper. The hair is not exactly regulation I am told, but the Rebellion is too short handed to say anything about it.

That is all for now. Until next time. Adieu.

Explore posts in the same categories: Family, Friends, Star Wars

3 Comments on “Star Wars Party”

  1. lethalaleatha Says:

    the look on my face is from the part where Padme is angry at QuiGon

  2. Sarah Says:

    What? I didn’t remember Padme had emotions. I’ll have to watch again carefully.

    You guys had awesome costumes, btw. And yes, my husband’s hair is not quite regulation, in any context, really.

  3. Travis Says:

    I’m sorry I missed the fun. Happy birthday Samuel. Glad it was fun for you. I realize this is a late post but been busy down here. You’ll have to come and visit us some day this summer.


Leave a comment